Posted in Uncategorized

Community College: Where everyone should start??

Hey Guys!

It occurred to me the other day that not enough people utilize Community College in order to pursue their education. Regardless of your ability to pay for school, Community College is a great place to continue education. Everyone goes through a period where they completely bomb a semester of school. Many of us change our majors, sometimes more than once. The logical thing to do would be to go to a less expensive school. The following is a list of reasons Community College is the best place to start.

  1. Community College is less expensive.
  2. You have a better opportunity to explore different majors and career paths.
  3. You can get most, if not all, of your General Education Courses out of the way before you Transfer to a 4-year school. (if that’s your plan)
  4. If you don’t plan on continuing to a 4-year institute, you can still earn an Associate’s degree in as little as 2 years’ full time.

I know going to community college was a great decision for me because I failed my first full time semester as well as changed my major. I graduated from Universal Technical Institute supposedly knowing exactly what I was going to do in life and started a full time semester that fall. That was in 2013. I failed that first semester Miserably because I stopped going. Many of my classes pertained to my previous major and they just weren’t what I wanted. The harsh reality hit me. The thing I spent the majority of my life working towards, wasn’t the thing I REALLY wanted to do in life and the thing I spent a long time saying I would never do, I plan on doing. Community college has allowed me to change the path I have chosen with minimal setbacks and academic damage. While failing and being put on academic probation was probably the worst feeling but it could have been a whole lot worse. Anyway, this is just one of my many opinions regarding school. Have any of you had something like this happen? Do you guys agree or disagree? I would love to hear everyone’s story and/or take on this topic.

XO,

Nikki

Author:

Currently a Junior in college. Majoring in History and still working out what I’m going to do with it. Interests include reading, gardening, cooking/baking, traveling, anything related to history, archaeology, and going to races. Cannot function in life without my planner and desk calendar. Amateur genealogist.

Leave a Reply

