Posted in Uncategorized

Semester Organization Tips

Hey Guys!

Today’s post is all about how I color code my classes during the semester and how I usually keep myself on track. The first thing I want to cover is what I use to keep myself on track. My essential school supplies as it is. You may find my list fits your needs well, everyone has their own needs they must meet and not everyone will find that they need everything that I do. Without further ado, here’s my list and tips to hopefully help you do well during your semester, whether it be current or upcoming.

School Supplies I Keep On Me

1 pencil case (full of pens pencils and highlighters)

2 flash drives

Lip balm

Headphones

Phone Charger

Lotion

My Erin Condren Life Planner

My smaller day planner

My textbooks/notebooks

Supplies I Keep at Home

Desk pad Calendar

A supply of Notebooks

Plenty of extra pens, pencils, highlighters, and other colored utensils

Planner Selection

Okay guys and gals, Planner selection is probably one of the MOST important steps to organizing your classes as well as the rest of your life. I personally have two planners as well as a desk pad calendar currently. I don’t usually have two planners. When I bought my EC planner, I thought it was great and it worked well but as soon as the semester started, I found that it wasn’t going to fit my busy and hectic school schedule. I didn’t have enough room to write out my classes and schedule my studying. I didn’t have enough room to write my to-do lists for each day. There just wasn’t enough room. That led me to my second planner which gives me a whole page for one day. I’m able to see a physical schedule of the things I need to do and when I will be studying or in class. Finding a planner that works for you is essential. Whether you need a whole page for one day, a two-page layout for the week, or a completely different format there is something out there for everyone. If you find that the Erin Condren Planner will fit your life you can order and receive $10 off through my referral Link.

Color Coding Your Classes

I must admit, I didn’t come up with the color coding idea by myself. While my system for color coding is entirely my own, the concept came from a blog on Pinterest but unfortunately the link that I used when I found it doesn’t work anymore. However, I can’t begin to tell you what a difference it makes. She Color coded by having a different color for School, appointments and meetings, social, sports, urgent items, and everything else. This works better when you don’t have several classes that you need to keep separated. I took her idea and applied it to my classes and have found that it really helps. I usually have 4 classes each semester and I have chosen four colors that I continuously reuse in order to keep my classes organized in my planners and on my Desk Pad.

I use Blue, Green, Pink, and Purple religiously each semester. This coming semester, Color coding is going to be Extremely important since most of my classes will be history classes and I will need to keep myself straight when doing homework and looking at my planner.

Using Your Syllabi

All of my color coding and planner use is nothing without my syllabi. Before every semester, I email my teachers to respectfully ask for a copy of the syllabus they will be using. Many of my teachers send me a preliminary one and some say I can’t have one until everyone else is allowed to have one. Once I get my syllabi, I look over it, and, if there is an assignment schedule, I start writing Due dates in my planner and on my desk calendar.  On the first day of class, my professors usually went over their syllabus and what they expected. I would take a highlighter and highlight important aspects such as project requirements, office hours and contact information for the professor. Your syllabi are your road maps to passing your classes and keeping yourself up to date.

 

Other Tips for Success

  1. Attend class as much as possible. Missing class, as tempting as it is, is not going to get you good grades and your professor will remember you but not for good reasons.
  2. Sit in the front of class. Even though you may feel more comfortable sitting in the middle or closer to the back, you will be more likely to pay attention the closer to the front you sit.
  3. Take notes by hand. While we all live in an extremely connected world, you are more likely to retain the information you cover in class if you write it down by hand.
  4. Make friends with some people in your class. Even if you never stay friends when the class is over, make friends/acquaintances so you have people to study the material with as well as people to contact if you do miss a class.
  5. When emailing your professors, BE RESPECTFUL AND POLITE! I cannot stress how important it is to be respectful and polite to your professors. Not only will they remember you when they are grading, it is good practice for life outside of school.
  6. Try to apply what you have learned to your daily life. Even if you only apply it during the semester you are learning it, it will make things easier to remember. I know in certain situations this is a hard thing to do, but it will help.

Those are my tips for right now. Do you have any that you would like to add? Comment them down below. If you want to see photos of anything in this post just let me know and I will email you the photos. Remember, You guys ROCK!

XO,

Nikki

Author:

Currently a Junior in college. Majoring in History and still working out what I’m going to do with it. Interests include reading, gardening, cooking/baking, traveling, anything related to history, archaeology, and going to races. Cannot function in life without my planner and desk calendar. Amateur genealogist.

2 thoughts on “Semester Organization Tips

  1. One thing I would add is that a lot of my classes offer extra study sessions where the TA will actually run it. This is a way to learn the material from someone other than your teacher. It helps me a lot! I really like your 6th point. It is always super important to apply it because a lot of things you can’t just use memorization. Love the post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

